A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Wheat The New No No For Dieters

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in ...

A diet rich in soy and whey protein, found in products such as soy milk and low-fat yogurt, has been shown to reduce breast cancer incidence in rats. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Yesterday I read that wheat is what is making us all fatter because it is so refined now that there is no goodness left in it.  Apparently it causes, indigestion, bloating, weight gain, and a myriad of other ailments. The solution – no bread, no pasta, no cakes, no biscuits, no health bars etc etc.What really annoys me about these things is there is always someone coming up with a brilliant idea to solve the weight problem, unfortunately, it’s too simplistic there is no single reason. For the farmers and meat producers they must dread the fallout from these theories as it affects their livelihood, until the next big diet solution comes out, and then we can eat that particular thing again like meat or eggs or wheat or dairy. There are a multitude of reasons why people are getting fatter. We don’t move around like we used to when we didn’t have all the modern conveniences eg. cars, washing machines, dishwashers, television, and internet. The truth is we sit a lot. We sit at work, we sit at home. Most of us don’t do manual work. Food is more plentiful now. Go the supermarket and the shelves are crammed with quick and easy meals. We have all been told at various times not to eat butter or eggs, red meat, margarine etc. Salt is bad for you, sugar is bad for you, white flour is bad for you.  You should only eat a low-fat diet. There are pineapple diets, lemon diets, coconut diets and so on. If you followed every new theory you wouldn’t eat anything at all. Come to think of it that’s a good way to diet. (only joking) My mother used to say all things in moderation and I think that is some way towards a solution. It’s the old saying isn’t it? Energy in and energy out. Eat less and exercise more. Hmm! Think I will go and have a yoghurt (low-fat of course) and a cup of tea  now, all this talk of food has made me hungry.

12 comments on “Wheat The New No No For Dieters

  1. boomiebol
    June 2, 2012

    So true…I think food is all in moderation. But we need to move around more…and try to make food from the scracth in my opinion…and like you I am hungry but I might be going for cake and Ice cream lol…if i dare 🙂

    Like

  2. novareylin
    June 2, 2012

    Oh brother! What will they come up with next? The really sad thing is, a lot of people will completely take wheat out of their diet for this. Just makes me sad.

    Cake and ice cream… yummy!

    Like

  3. thesubterraneanworld
    June 2, 2012

    Fascinating post Judy, I feel like my stomach asking for something! lol
    -Naima.

    Like

    • judysp
      June 2, 2012

      I know I really wanted a biscuit or a piece of bread or something after reading the article. lol

      Like

      • thesubterraneanworld
        June 2, 2012

        Hahaha 🙂
        So true!! I craved that after reading it!

        Like

  4. yellowlancer
    June 2, 2012

    Moderation really is the key but I often forget that until after I’ve eaten too much of something 😦
    I like the ‘energy in and energy out’ and should have it posted on my pantry door!

    Like

    • judysp
      June 4, 2012

      I should do that too. My husband is a grazer (eats all day). I have to go to another room so that I don’t sucumb to the temptation too.

      Like

  5. dorannrule
    June 2, 2012

    This is oh-so-true! And I’m so glad you found me so that I could find you! Or was it the other way around?

    Like

    • judysp
      June 4, 2012

      I found you so I am the lucky one. Is it summer over there? It’s winter here but not cold. I am walking around in short sleeves with all the doors and windows open. It was cooler this morning when I took the dogs for a walk. We have a week of rain so it is so nice to see the sun and the blue sky again. Have a great week. Cheers Judy

      Like

  6. russtowne
    June 6, 2012

    Thank you for the article. Ironically, now that so many products are whole-grain and whole-wheat, I’ve developed a condition (gout) where wheat bran and wheat germ and whole wheat can increase my purine intake and possibly trigger trigger painful attacks. Sometimes life is filled with little ironies. I might as well laugh and enjoy the humor in them.

    Thank you for sharing the ideas in your blog with the world and with little ol’ me.

    Russ…

    Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 437 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

