A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Weight Training- How To Boost Your Fitness

weight training

I think I should have called this Weight Training For The Old And Decrepit.

Today was my first day having a go at weight training. The trainer is of course young (20’s) fit and healthy. Twenty repetitions of each exercise doesn’t sound like much does it? I guess it depends on how old and fit you are. I have never been so glad to get to 20 in my life, it was touch and go sometimes .  My muscles were shaking by the end of the workout which is probably the idea. My idea of weight training is to lift a heavy book while I am reading. Seriously, I could hardly lift the kettle to make myself a much-needed cup of tea after all that exercise.  I will digress here for a moment. A cup of tea is a wonderous thing. tea boosts you up when you are tired, depressed, or when you feel like indulging yourself in a nice little treat. I love to sit on the couch and read with my dog on my lap, and a nice hot cup of tea. I hate Teabags with a passion and won’t have them in the house. I am a loose leaf type of girl who warms the pot and the cups, takes the pot to the kettle not the other way around, and lets it sit for a while. Anyhow back to weight training (Oh! must we ?) My idea is to have at least one 30 minute session a week, but The Spouse says that is not enough. He thinks I should be doing it a couple of times a week along with the Yoga and Pilates that I do already.Fine for him to say, he’s not doing it. I think it will take a week for my body to get over this session. If I had been clever, I would have pretended that it was too hard for me ,and the trainer would have been kinder to me, and not pushed me so hard. But no, my pride got the better of me, and I had to show off and say, ‘Oh no, that’s fine I can do another 20.’  When will I ever learn? Because next week the trainer will expect me to do it all again, and maybe something harder. I thought you were suppose to get smarter as you got older?

3 comments on “Weight Training- How To Boost Your Fitness

  1. dorannrule
    June 22, 2012

    And I thought I was exercising! Pilates – Yoga – Weight Training? Sudden Death! I’m lucky I can get through the old ladies’ circuit twice a week. Nothing to show off there and the trainers stay on the phone oblivious to form and repetition. 🙂 You are impressive – you and your post too.

    Like

  2. strawberryindigo
    June 26, 2012

    I’m not much of a workout person but I love tea. I have to confess that I would rather have a nice cup of warm goodness than go to the gym. You are brave. 🙂

    Like

    • judysp
      June 26, 2012

      Thanks for following your support means a lot to me. I don’t go to the gym I am not that brave
      He comes to my house for 30 mins a week.

      I wouldn’t know what to do without my cup of tea. I don’t wake up properly until I have had one first thing in the morning.
      Happy Blogging
      Cheers Judy

      Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 439 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

