A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

A Book Review : ‘Between The Lines’ by Jodie Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Between the Lines

This book is a collaboration between mother and daughter. It is aimed at the Young Adult audience and has lovely illustrations throughout the book.  Jodie’s daughter Samantha came up with the idea. I must say it is very clever idea, and I wish I had thought of it. Sigh!

While Jodie Picoult books are usually about fairly heavy moral issues, this book is a romance within a fairy story. The main character in the ‘real world’ is Delilah, a bookworm ,who loves a book called, Between the Lines, and is obsessed by the fairy story. The main character in the fairy story is called Prince Oliver. He is a rebellious teenager who thinks there should be more to life than being a character in a book. Delilah is the only reader who can hear him. Over time they fall in love, so the book is actually a fairy story within a fairy story. While for some adult readers it may not be their cup of tea, I found it charming. Jodie actually drops in some writing hints along the way. I don’t want to ruin the story for anyone so suffice to say, I love a happy ending.

2 comments on “A Book Review : ‘Between The Lines’ by Jodie Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

  1. mimijk
    July 12, 2012

    I couldn’t agree with you more! I just finished it (I bought it thinking it was another Piccoult book – which it is – not realizing it was for a younger targeted audience)..And I thought it was lovely..

    Like

  2. globalunison
    July 13, 2012

    A happy ending?? Really by Jodi Picoult?? I hated how she let Willow die in the end of “Handle With Care”. I read “The Lone Wolf” as her last book and I still have to buy this one! Thank you for the very lovely book review Judy.
    Much love,
    -Naima.

    Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Information

This entry was posted on July 11, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 439 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

