A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

The Ekka

Well it’s time for the Ekka, an annual event in Brisbane that lasts for 9 days. Where the country meets the city. It is a wonderful experience for city kids to see animals being born. To see how and where their fruit and vegetables, milk and cheese,  come from. For a lot of them they have no idea which is sad.  There are lectures on bees,how to grow plants, fruit and vegetables.

Geoffrey Rush, the Oscar winning actor,  was there too but we didn’t see him. We go every year and we always try to go the first day as it’s not as crowded then. It’s also cleaner because 400,000 people haven’t been through it yet. There are all the wonderful , earthy smells of the different animals, horses, sheep, goats, chickens, ducks, birds of all descriptions, cows, bulls,dogs, and cats.

I like the strawberry ice-creams that are an institution at the Ekka. They have vanilla ice cream on the bottom layer with fresh strawberries, the next layer is strawberry ice cream and on top is a humongous strawberry with fresh cream. (totally non-fattening of course).  I can remember when my sister delivered her first child at the hospital across from the Ekka grounds. I had to run (and I mean run) from the hospital over to the show and back, to get her a strawberry ice cream. Thank goodness it didn’t melt before I got back there.

As you come into the grounds you go through side-show alley with all the rides, and people yelling out for you to come to their attraction. They always have music blaring, and it’s different for each attraction ,so it is deafening. There are plenty of screams from the more frightening rides, not sure if that is pleasure or pain, and I don’t want to find out.  I am not a fan of the rides (chicken) so I walk through there rather quickly.

We love to go to look at the Art, if you don’t go the first day then you miss out if you want to buy any of the real good ones. There are food halls aplenty selling everything you can think of, and the smells are tantalizing. Hot dogs, fairy floss, steak, hot chips, asian food etc.

The show has fashion shows, comedy acts, and plenty of events in the center ring like wood chop, sheep dog trials, fireworks, stunt cars, and of course there is the judging of all the cattle and the horse events.  It’s a real carnival atmosphere with school bands playing, kids shows, dogs shows, and everyone loves it.

There is photography, cake decorating, wood work, sewing etc. It’s wonderful to see all the happy faces of families out enjoying the atmosphere and each other’s company. It goes for 9 days, and ONLY in Queensland would the opening day be 7 days after it starts. It starts on Thursday and People’s Day, where everyone in Brisbane gets a public holiday to go to the show , is on the following Wednesday. The outlying places like the Redlands, Logan, and Moreton Bay etc.,  have their public holiday on the Monday to spread things out a bit.

I love to see the baby animals, and the birds, and the fish. There is so much to do and see and people are so friendly. Then of course there are the show bags. The spouse likes the chocolate bags . I always buy a licorice bag for Nora (the dog’s Aunty who looks after them when we go away). Of course I buy one for me too. ( NO! that’s not fattening either). The spouse wanted some pancakes and there were no spare seats so he sat down with these two lovely ladies who had just been to the fashion show. We stayed to talk to them for awhile. It’s just that sort of place, where strangers can talk and enjoy each others company for a while. When we went to see the birds I was asking the guy who was looking after the canaries how long they should live for, and he said about 5 years. Well, my canary is 10 or 11 years old. I must admit Jamie looks pretty scruffy. All his feathers are sticking up like a punk rocker, but he still sings his heart out everyday. I reckon he can look as scruffy as he likes at his age.

We came home after having a lovely day in the sunshine and had a nice cup of tea, and a sit down. All that walking makes you tired.

5 comments on “The Ekka

  1. globalunison
    August 10, 2012

    Wow!! Seems like fun for nine long summery days! That is awesome! I wish I could be transported to Brisbane!
    Hope you are doing well, Judy!
    Love,
    -Naima.

    Like

    • judysp
      August 10, 2012

      you would enjoy it Naima it’s a lot of fun .Have you got your puppy yet? 🙂

      Like

      • globalunison
        August 10, 2012

        Oh no, I haven’t got my puppy yet. I have been planning to shift to Leicester, England for my University studies from the following September so I am thinking to get a puppy there – good idea?
        I think people will fear me too with a little doggy?? Lol.
        Love,
        -Naima.

        Like

  2. lutheranladies
    August 10, 2012

    Okay, my traveling jealousy just kicked in. I’ve got to go somewhere besides the grocery store. Maybe the grocery in another town? Looks like you had a great time.

    Like

  3. Andrea Kelly
    August 12, 2012

    Sounds like a blast!

    Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 439 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

