A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Dog saves Kittens

Jack Russell Terrier

Jack Russell Terrier (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

This is a lovely video showing how love between Leo, the Jack Russell Terrier, and the newborn kittens made him risk his own life to save them.When the family home in Melbourne caught on fire, Leo came to the rescue. I might be biased but I think Dogs are wonderful. I can’t understand why people would ever be cruel to animals. I was listening to an interview the other day, and the man from the RSPCA said that animal cruelty increases during school holidays. I wonder if this is because so many parents won’t let their children have a pet of any description. Or if it is the violence on television, movies, and computer games that is causing this lack of empathy. It is such a shame as animals can enrich your life with their love, their companionship, and their loyalty. Now the scientists are saying that they can even help people with dementia, and it has been known for a while that when older people  have a pet, it helps them emotionally, socially, and in some cases physically. Studies have been documented that petting a dog or cat lowers blood pressure in hypertensive patients and that older people show improved alertness when caring for a pet.

I thank my lucky stars that my sister and I were brought up with cats,dogs, kangaroos, frilly lizards, and birds. Our parents loved animals and so do we.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8xhUURG_RA&feature=related

4 comments on “Dog saves Kittens

  1. Jane Thorne
    August 18, 2012

    Our animal companions show unconditional love – thanks Judy for this post x

  2. dorannrule
    August 18, 2012

    This one made me cry. I “thank my lucky stars” too that I was brought up loving animals and most particularly, dogs. This post is extra special, not just because of the video, but because of what you have written.

  3. Alarna Rose Gray
    August 20, 2012

    Darling, noble creatures. I’m curious as to how this ended up on an American channel, and I hadn’t heard of it!

  4. Andrea Kelly
    August 21, 2012

    Pets have always been a member of the family in my household! 🙂

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 460 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

