A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Memories of a Typewriter

Typewriter from Juwel

This is a funny video, but the musician is very clever. Dad’s study was a wonderful place, full of books, and classical music. I used to love hearing my Dad pounding away on his typewriter, when he was writing his sermon for Sunday. I know you can get similar sounds on the computer, but it’s not the same. I used to like the smell of the ribbon too, and the sound of the paper being put in over the rollers. The carriage return always made such a satisfying sound.  No wonder writers were so creative. Nostalgia, isn’t it wonderful?  Though I must admit that as I am not the greatest typist, I am very grateful to my computer for spell check, as quite often I have missed out a letter, when I haven’t pushed the keys hard enough. Cut and paste is pretty good too. Anyhow, back to Dad. The family wasn’t allowed to interrupt him, while he was composing. I would sneak in on the pretext of reading my book. Then I was told in no uncertain terms that I could only sit there if I was quiet. However,  I used to drive him mad, because my favorite question was, WHY? Eventually, when he’d had enough he would throw me out. Now I am grown up I know how he feels. I don’t like to be interrupted either.  Enjoy the video

http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=G4nX0Xrn-wo&sns=em

6 comments on “Memories of a Typewriter

  1. globalunison
    August 20, 2012

    This reminded me of a typewriter my dad used to use when i was very young! Thank you for the share!
    Much love,
    -Naima.

  2. dorannrule
    August 20, 2012

    Love it – the old typer and the music too. I learned to type on a manual and still miss the click of the keys! 🙂

  3. russtowne
    August 21, 2012

    DELIGHTFUL! Thank you for sharing it, Judy!
    Russ

  4. Andrea Kelly
    August 21, 2012

    I love typewriters! The sound of the keys is great 🙂

  5. Lutheran Ladies
    August 27, 2012

    I did some typing on a Smith and Wesson the other day and discovered that my finger muscles must have atrophied. It was a workout to push the keys. Now I know why I could never break 60 words a minute (at least that’s the excuse I’m using).

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 458 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

