A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Doggie Thought For The Day

 

Wisdom from a dog. Wouldn’t it be wonderful if our world leaders heeded this advice?  Not just them but neighborhood disputes, road rage, and any other type of rage that is not earth shattering. Sitting down and thinking about things before any knee-jerk reaction has to better.

English: Join the movement to end child abuse:...

On a completely opposite track, I believe that sometimes rage is justified. When you see parents, family, friends of murdered victims not receive the type of justice they should. They live with that crime and their loss, all their lives. Yet the criminals seem to be out in no time. The law doesn’t seem able to punish the offenders of these crimes in a way that makes them atone for what they did.

Then there are the victims of  crime like rape, child abuse, and domestic violence. The law doesn’t appear to have much sympathy for them. Sometimes the victims are treated like criminals, instead of the real criminal.There are always excuses put forward by the criminal’s defense council as to why the perpetrator committed the crime. They weren’t breast-fed as a baby, or they came from a deprived background, and so on. However, there have been many people in those exact same circumstances who didn’t go out and commit crimes. It was their choice in either scenario.

Some time ago there was a riot in one of our jails and they smashed pool tables, television sets, computers, and burned bedding and books etc. We, the taxpayer, had to pay to have all the damaged goods replaced. I ask myself why? Why not leave them like that? When will they ever have to live with the results of their actions? If no one ever makes them accountable, when will they ever learn that for every action there is a reaction.

16 comments on “Doggie Thought For The Day

  1. mimijk
    August 21, 2012

    You had me with the adorable picture..and the fact that occasionally I too would like to sit on someone I’m annoyed with too…:-)

    Like

    • judysp
      August 21, 2012

      I agree with both those sentiments 🙂

      Like

  2. on thehomefrontandbeyond
    August 21, 2012

    good points – but why did they riot?
    second – I love the pups

    Like

    • judysp
      August 21, 2012

      Not sure I think it was food or something. I love the pups too aren’t they cute? 🙂

      Like

  3. s1ngal
    August 21, 2012

    thanks to the pups… I *like*d the post [without reading]. then I read it. and I’ve *Unlike*d not because I didn’t like the post but because there indeed is a limitation to this *like* button.

    It’s a sensitive topic & i’ll just tip my hat for you!

    Like

  4. sandnige
    August 21, 2012

    Have you seen my blog if not check it out I have just done a story about my abusive life through domestic violence, rape and sexual abuse by my father. Alexandrasmithwriter.wordpress.com

    Like

  5. Maxi
    August 21, 2012

    Ditto, ditto, ditto. Yes, leave them like that. These criminals don’t deserve luxuries that we have to pay for.

    Btw, the doggie photo says it perfectly.

    Blessings – Maxi

    Like

  6. diannegray
    August 22, 2012

    How true this is! My hubby was assaulted about 20 years ago and as a result lost his left eye. His attacker had done this type of random attack before, yet none of his history was mentioned in court. He was sentenced to eight years jail but only spent nine months there and then ‘home detention’ at which time the government found him a job! Meanwhile, hubby was completely ignored and had to learn to survive and work on his own. This subject is very close to my heart…

    Like

    • judysp
      August 22, 2012

      Hi Dianne, I had written a reply to you and then it disappeared, so if you get this twice you will know I am not going senile. 🙂

      I hate what happened to your husband and your family, that is so wrong. Something has to be done about these type of situations. Criminals have to learn to accept responsibilty for their actions. The courts and the laws need a big shake up. They do not reflect the will of the people. I think a lot of it is to do with the fact that the jails are so overcrowded so they try not to put more people in.

      cheers Judy

      Like

      • diannegray
        August 22, 2012

        Thanks Judy. A lot of people get so angry and frustrated about the amount of violence we have because the criminal is always treated better by the government than the victims. The example you gave about the prisoners running riot is a perfect example – everything will get fixed (at our expense) and they’ll get a fairy slap on the wrist. Our local prison is currently looking into giving the prisoners free syringes (because they can’t stop the drugs from coming in) and most of the people in this prison are there for drug related crimes! Go figure…

        Like

      • judysp
        August 22, 2012

        It’s just disgusting in my opinion. Not enough punishment for the crimes. 🙂

        Like

  7. Andrea Kelly
    August 22, 2012

    I so agree!

    Like

  8. A Dog With Fleas
    August 22, 2012

    This is such a great post and a very important topic. It gets me so angry how the criminals are treated better in most instances then the victims. For example, I live in an area close enough to Penn State where that horrible and tragic event has been front and center news. Yes people still say such wonderful things about Joe Paterno since he is looked on as a “God” even though he knew these heinous acts were going on.

    It is just horrendous and I hope something could be done in our Criminal Justice System where these criminals are given such luxuries at our expense.

    Thanks for reading and checking out my blog. If it wasn’t for that, I wouldn’t have come across this wonderful blog.

    Like

  9. Eloise Currie
    August 22, 2012

    I agree that there is a lack of *thinking* going on, and far too much angry reaction without forethought. Actions should have consequences – consequences that *stick*. Good post.

    Like

  10. thoughtsfromanamericanwoman
    August 24, 2012

    This is when we get angry enough to do something to fix the problems and fight for victims rights. Criminals need to pay for their actions and if they are willing I am all for teaching them a trade and help them to get back on their feet, BUT victims have rights that are being ignored, I think it is high time we start putting things in perspective, care of the victim and punish the criminal.
    And on a lighter note, yes the picture of pups is enough to warm our hearts – and grin as we can all think of people to “sit on”! Bless you

    Like

    • judysp
      August 24, 2012

      I couldn’t agree with you more 🙂

      Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 437 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

