A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

Lack of Education

World Report (RTÉ)

World Report (RTÉ) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

 

To be honest I wasn’t sure if I should put this up on the blog or not. I found it quite frightening to think that these people don’t seem to have the most  basic general knowledge of the outside world, their own country, or current affairs. What are their educators teaching them in their schools, colleges, universities ? It is quite disturbing to think that such a powerful country as America has such a low standard of education. I would like to hear from some of my American bloggers to know if this is the general level of education or not? I do know that when I was in America quite a few years ago there wasn’t much news from the wider world on the television. It was mainly about America. However, that might have changed now. In this day and age there is so much information available on the internet, newspapers, and television etc it is sad to think that these people are not more aware of the wider world. I am not being critical. I am just shocked by what I saw on this video.

http://youtu.be/_mWtWz_aGyk

9 comments on “Lack of Education

  1. Jane Thorne
    September 9, 2012

    Judy, that was staggering to watch…goes to show how some folk are wrapped in their own worlds…take care, Jane 😀

    Like

  2. sharechair
    September 9, 2012

    I am the wife of a university professor and I can tell you he is constantly outraged by the lack of knowledge that people have about absolutely everything. And yes, our news here is entirely slanted to USA only. Now, this said, my adult children would disagree. They argue with their Dad that their friends are extremely bright and well-informed, and that is true, they are, but I don’t believe that they and their friends are representative of the population at large. Very sad, but sadly true. A topic we discuss regularly here in Pennsylvania. I could go on, but I’d turn this comment into another blog post! 🙂

    Like

  3. totsymae1011
    September 10, 2012

    Education in America is now founded on the principle that a test score can determine your overall proficiency on a given subject. That technology for the digital learners in the classroom is the best option for appealing to them and their short attention spans. Students are pressured to pass tests and there is little development for creative thinking; therefore, their scope of knowledge is limited, as their primary focus is to pass a test in order to progress to the next level. However, this is not confined to America, as I worked with a University in Saudi Arabia, where teachers came from various parts of the world. A South African teacher didn’t know all of the countries within her continent. She didn’t know who Mahatma Gandhi was, nor Martin Luther King. I could go on but I don’t have that kind of time.

    Like

    • Judy
      September 10, 2012

      I agree with you. Unfortunately I think it is a world wide trend and what annoys me most is that there is more information available now than ever before, but people seem to know less. I can’t quite figure that out. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

  4. Andrea Kelly
    September 10, 2012

    There is way too much pressure being placed on passing tests, and not enough on critical thinking/learning how to learn, and the joys of discovering new information. It’s sad, really.

    Like

    • Judy
      September 10, 2012

      Unfortunately I think it is a world wide trend and what annoys me most is that there is more information available now than ever before but people seem to know less. I can’t quite figure that out. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

      Like

      • Andrea Kelly
        September 16, 2012

        I totally agree, it’s a conundrum for sure 🙂

        Like

  5. Alarna Rose Gray
    September 11, 2012

    Hey Judy, it is staggering…I’m not sure it’s much better here in Australia, though. I wondering if it also has something to do with the two-second-attention span generation we have now (thanks to info technology)? Even I must admit, I might have a passing awareness of things, but I don’t remember the details, because I know I can just ‘Google’ the answers anytime I want. Sad, but true.

    Like

    • Judy
      September 12, 2012

      I totally agree I think that with the Naplan tests etc all they concentrate on is answering the tests not improving their students general knowledge.

      Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 438 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

