A Daily Thought

Art, Writing, Jokes, Animals, Videos

I Wish You Enough

ATT00005

 

THIS IS AN OLD ONE BUT I STILL REALLY LIKE IT!!!!!!

Recently I overheard a Father and daughter in their last moments together at the airport. They had announced the departure.

Standing near the security gate, they hugged and the Father said, ‘I love you, and I wish you enough.’

The daughter replied, ‘Dad, our life together has been more than enough. Your love is all I ever needed. I wish you enough, too, Dad.’

They kissed and the daughter left. The Father walked over to the window
where I was seated. Standing there I could see he wanted and needed to
cry. I tried not to intrude on his privacy, but he welcomed me in by
asking, ‘Did you ever say good-bye to someone knowing it would be
forever?’

‘Yes, I have,’ I replied. ‘Forgive me for asking, but why is this a forever good-bye?’..

‘I am old, and she lives so far away. I have challenges ahead and the
reality is – the next trip back will be for my funeral,’ he said.

‘When you were saying good-bye, I heard you say, ‘I wish you enough.’ May I ask what that means?’

He began to smile. ‘That’s a wish that has been handed down from other generations. My parents used to say it to everyone…’
‘When we said, ‘I wish you enough,’ we were wanting the other person to have a life filled with just enough good things to sustain them.’ Then turning toward me, he shared the following as if he were reciting it from
memory.

I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright no matter how gray the day may appear.

I wish you enough rain to appreciate the sun even more.  I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive and everlasting.
I wish you enough pain so that even the smallest of joys in life may appear bigger.
I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.

I wish you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I wish you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.

He then began to cry and walked away.

They  say it takes a minute to find a special person, an hour to appreciate
them, a day to love them; but then an entire life to forget them.

To all my special blogging family,  I WISH YOU ENOUGH in all your years ahead. May 2014 be your best year ever. 🙂

 

 

22 comments on “I Wish You Enough

  1. Adam Hughes
    December 28, 2013

    What beautiful sentiments. Thanks so much for sharing 🙂

    Like

    • Judy
      December 31, 2013

      Thanks for the kind words Adam. Have a very Happy New Year 🙂

      Like

      • Adam Hughes
        December 31, 2013

        And you too 🙂

        Like

  2. tskraghu
    December 28, 2013

    So nice!

    Like

  3. Ann Koplow
    December 28, 2013

    This post was enough. Thank you.

    Like

  4. dorannrule
    December 28, 2013

    I had not heard or read it before Judy and I think it is just beautiful. Thanks so much for wishing us all “enough.” Happy New Year! ~Dor

    Like

  5. Ted Ross Savage
    December 28, 2013

    So very beautiful, thank you for posting it.

    Like

  6. ritaroberts
    December 28, 2013

    How Beautiful. ! Thank you for sharing these lovely thoughts.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

    Like

  7. ritaroberts
    December 28, 2013

    Reblogged this on Ritaroberts's Blog.

    Like

  8. Carla Saunders
    December 28, 2013

    Thank you. i certainly relate to this story. Happy New Year 🙂

    Like

  9. maesprose
    December 29, 2013

    I wish you enough too. Happy New Year!

    Like

    • Judy
      December 31, 2013

      Happy New Year to you too and thanks for your kind words. 🙂

      Like

  10. yellowlancer
    December 29, 2013

    Beautiful!

    Like

    • Judy
      December 31, 2013

      Have a very Happy New Year and a safe one too. 🙂

      Like

  11. donnajeanmcdunn
    December 30, 2013

    I love this. I hope it’s okay that I reblogged it, but I want everyone I know that I too, wish them enough.

    Like

    • Judy
      December 31, 2013

      It’s more than OK I am happy that you liked it enough to share it. Have a Happy New Year 🙂

      Like

  12. donnajeanmcdunn
    December 30, 2013

    Reblogged this on Donna Jean McDunn and commented:
    I want to wish everyone a Happy New Year and this is the perfect message to communicate that fact.

    Like

  13. Inside of Love
    December 30, 2013

    I read this a long time ago on Facebook, and New Years’ is the perfect time to remember it
    I wish you enough too 🙂

    Like

    • Judy
      December 31, 2013

      Thanks for your kind comments. I wish you enough too and I hope you have a safe and Happy New Year. 🙂

      Like

  14. Pingback: Lessons Learned From Heroes Stay With Us - Adlandpro Community Blogs

  15. Raani York
    January 2, 2014

    Thanks for this wonderful blog post. It made me weep… I wish you enough for 2014!

    Like

    • Judy
      January 5, 2014

      Hi Raani it made me weep too. I wish you much joy and happiness in the years ahead. cheers Judy 🙂

      Like

Would you like to comment? I would love to hear your feedback, if you have the time.

Information

This entry was posted on December 28, 2013 by and tagged , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 438 other followers

My Lovely Blogging Community

